top of page
  • Alyssa Owsiany

The Daily V Reviews: Bloomers Queen St. West

Mmmm, doughnuts. As a long time Canadian (born and raised, in fact), I consider doughnuts a valuable and necessary part of my personal history. As a kid I grew up eating Tim's (Tim Hortons, but if you're Canadian, you'll understand the short form). As a stoner teenager I continued with the doughnuts. In lieu of vegan doughnuts available, and also just really good doughnuts, I became obsessed with other forms of sweet treats and began to favour other desserts. But after trying Bloomers and their really tasty selection of vegan doughnuts, I have to say that my doughnut cravings have returned. Hard.

Rose & Pistachio, Birthday Cake and Sprinkle Donuts

I practice yoga at Downward Dog in Toronto and after passing by the new location of Bloomer's on the way to the studio, I was genuinely psyched to see the new addition to the neighbourhood. Toronto locals might know about their first location located at Bloor and Ossington. They have a full menu that is completely vegan and delicious, but I would say that what they are really known for are their vegan doughnuts. Fresh, the popular and delicious vegetarian chain restaurant, also sells Bloomer's doughnuts. That must mean they're good, right?


I took it upon myself to familiarize myself with all the treats available at Bloomer's at their Queen St. West location. I've gone in multiple times and the verdict so far is that the doughnuts are incredible, craving inducing, and amazing for vegans and non vegans alike.


Cookie wise, the peanut butter is a personal fave. It's dipped in chocolate and has the perfect texture- chewy, soft, and crispy outside. I notice there has been some inconsistency in how the cookie looks and it's texture- I think sometimes they leave it in longer for a crispier outside- but honestly it has always tasted delicious and been gobbled up by me.


The loaves are a bit expensive at $4 each before HST. I tried the carrot cake loaf upon recommendation of the baker but I didn't think it was anything special. Although it was well spiced there was nothing in the loaf itself, no raisins, nuts, ect. The icing was ok but it wasn't something I would order again.


The cinnamon buns are absolutely delicious and I highly recommend them. If you can manage to get them fresh I would say GO FOR IT.


Cinnamon Bun with 'Cream Cheese' Icing

2 views0 comments
bottom of page